Propertius 2.7

Cynthia, surely you are glad for rescinded law,
For which edict we both did long lament,
Lest it should divide us, as Jupiter himself
Should not ask two lovers to part.
‘Yet great Caesar!’ But Caesar is great only in wars:
Conquered kinds do not prevail in love.
For the more swiftly would I endure this head fall from shoulder
Than would I be able to betray torches of marriage by her will,
Or would I pass by your closed doors of marriage,
Looking at your betrayals with wet eyes.
Ah! Then my flute would sing you such sleeps,
That flute, sadder than the funeral trumpet!
Whence is it to me to provide sons for victorious countries?
No soldier shall come from my blood.
But if I should follow the true camps of my mistress,
The great horse of Castor should not journey far enough for me.
Hence indeed my glory is become such a name,
Glory borne to the wintry Borysthenians.
You alone please me: let me alone please you, Cynthia;
This love will be of more than my ancestral stock!

One response to “Propertius 2.7

  1. Pingback: V for Vendetta, R for Rebellion | Explorations from Latin 372

Leave a Reply

